Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania and Slovenia will use coal for electricity generation beyond 2030

, SEE Energy News

Seven EU member states plan to use coal for electricity generation after 2030, among which are four countries in southeastern Europe: Romania, Bulgaria, Slovenia and Croatia, according to a final draft of National Energy and Climate Plans (NECP).

Romania is planning to operate up to 2 GW of installed capacity in coal-fired thermal power plants after 2030, along with introducing natural gas as a transitional fuel in its decarbonization efforts.

Slovenia plans to use coal up to 2050, but it will reduce the use of both domestic and imported coal for the purpose of electricity generation by at least 30 % by 2030. Slovenia also plans significant investments in carbon capture and storage technology.

Croatian NECP does not mention any measures regarding the reduction of coal usage by 2030, but its National Energy Strategy envisages full coal phase-out after 2035.

Bulgaria plans to continue electricity production at state-owned TPP Maritsa East 2 well after 2030, despite the financial losses.