Region, Core FB MC hereby announce that as 28 August 2021 the external parallel run reached a next level of maturity

, Uncategorized

The project parties involved in the day-ahead Core Flow-Based Market Coupling project (Core FB MC) hereby announce that as 28 August 2021 the external parallel run reached a next level of maturity.

As of November 2020, Core NEMOs and TSOs have started a public testing phase to prepare themselves and market participants for the implementation of Flow Based Market Coupling. With having started this 15 months before the planned Go Live date, this is well in line with the legal obligation pursuant to Article 20 (8) of the CACM Regulation that requires that concerned TSOs, shall test the flow-based methodology alongside the existing capacity calculation and allocation regimes currently applied in the Core capacity calculation region during the period of at least six months. This so-called external parallel run has now reached a high level in maturity. The required common systems from Core Transmission System Operators used in the external parallel run are in the final stage of industrialization, covering the needed requirements to allow a fully representative and stable parallel run.

The project parties entered the joint testing in the second half of September 2021. Furthermore, project parties expect to launch the joint testing of the Single Day Ahead Coupling (SDAC) procedures at the beginning of 2022. Involvement of market participants is also envisaged at the beginning of 2022. Separate information on this involvement will follow duly in time. Go-live of Core FB MC is targeted for end of February 2022.

The Core Flow-Based Market Coupling (Core FB MC) project develops and implements a flow- based day-ahead market coupling across the whole Core capacity calculation region (Core CCR) in the framework of the Single Day-Ahead Coupling (SDAC). The Core CCR consists of the bidding zone borders between the following EU member states’ bidding zones: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.